Whimsical Treasure Trove

A Mama's Handmades & Musings

New dresses for the Princess

on January 12, 2012

Chinese New Year is around the corner and thus there is a lot to be done. Have been busy spring cleaning the whole house, shopping for festive goodies, making new curtains and of course, sewing new clothes for the children.

I managed to come up with the second princess dress. Fell in love with the dress when I watched Disney movie, ‘Tangled’. This dress took a much longer time because I made changes to the design along the way, The criss cross ribbon in front also took some time as I had to make sure they are well-aligned.

Went shopping for the fabrics for this dress in Spotlight. Like it that Spotlight has a wide range of colours for 100% cotton fabrics.

Initially I just decided on the purple fabric for the bottom half of the dress. However when I put them together the dress looks funny, so I decided to add an inner layer and the lace at the bottom, then use the purple fabric for the outer layer. Spend quite a bit of time sourcing for suitable ric rac for the outer layer. Glad I finally found this at Spotlight. I find the completed dress a bit heavy though, probably because there are two layers at the bottom half. However my princess doesn’t seem to notice it as she tried on the dress. She loves it, and is now pestering me to make her her favourite princess, Belle’s costume.

The second dress is my girl’s Chinese New Year dress. I want to sew a dress that looks like a traditoinal CNY costume yet incorporates modern elements, and comfortable and convenient for my girl to move around. Added two chinese knot buttons to give it a traditional feel.

I made this tunic for my girl after I completed the above two dresses. Love this fabric. The pictures look like they are right out from a book I had when I was 4 years old. When I saw the fabric I know I have to get it. I could already visualise the final design in my mind then. One I got it I quickly went to source for the lace and feathers and completed it that day. It is one of my personal favourite! The more I look at it, the more I feel like sewing one for myself too!

Gotta go now as going to sew lounge pants for both the children, and the Daddy too! Then need to go shopping for festive stuff. Busy busy!


Leave a comment